ST. PAUL, Minn. - For the first time in the state's history, five of the chief judges overseeing the state's 10 judicial districts will be women.

On July 1, new and reelected judges will assume their positions -- and at the same time, Minnesota will reach a new milestone.

The Honorable Kathryn Davis Messerich (first judicial district), Honorable Michelle A. Dietrich (fifth judicial district), Honorable Jodi L. Williamson (third judicial district), Honorable Ivy S. Bernhardson (fourth judicial district) and Honorable Sally L. Tarnowski (six judicial district) will all help usher in the new era for the state.

In 1991, Minnesota became the first state in the country to have a female majority on its highest court, when the Honorable Sandra S. Gardebring was appointed the fourth female justice on the MN Supreme Court.

According to the Minnesota Judicial Branch, 43 percent of the state's district court judges are women and 57 percent of the justices of the MN Supreme Court are female.