MINNEAPOLIS – The Minnesota Golden Gophers men's hockey team will take on Robert Morris in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament on Saturday.

It will be the 35th time in program history that the team has made the tournament.

The top overall seed for the tournament, Minnesota enters with a 25-6-6 overall record as the inaugural Big Ten regular-season champions.

The Gophers are led by Hobey Baker Award and Mike Richter Award finalist Adam Wilcox, who ranks second nationally in save percentage (.933), third in goals against average (1.91) and fourth in wins (23). Minnesota is captained by Nate Condon and Kyle Rau.

"We're excited to be hosting the West Regional with a great field of teams coming to St. Paul," Minnesota head coach Don Lucia told GophersSports.com. "Robert Morris has certainly earned the right to play in this tournament as have St. Cloud State and Notre Dame, and we are looking forward to a great weekend of hockey."

The puck will drop at 4:30 p.m. and it will air on ESPN2.

St. Cloud State and Notre Dame will play in the second regional semifinal.

The NCAA West Regional Championship is set for 6:30 p.m. on Sunday on ESPNU with the NCAA Men's Frozen Four slated for April 10-12 at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia.