ST. PAUL, Minn. - Minnesota has joined a group of other states in a coalition committed to upholding the Paris Accord.

In response to President Trump’s decision to withdraw from the Paris Accord, Washington Gov. Jay Inslee, New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo and California Gov. Edmund Brown Jr. formed the United States Climate Alliance with the goal of reducing emissions 26-28 percent from 2005 levels and meeting or exceeding the targets of the federal Clean Power Plan.

RELATED: America is out of the Paris climate agreement, Trump announces

On Monday, Minnesota, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont and Virginia all joined the coalition.

“I am very pleased to announce that Minnesota will join the U.S. Climate Alliance, to uphold the tenets of the Paris Climate Change Agreement in our state,” said Governor Mark Dayton in a statement. “President Trump’s withdrawal will cause serious damage to our environment and our economy. Nevertheless, Minnesota and other states will show the world what we can achieve by working together to conserve energy, to use cleaner and renewable energy, and to leave a livable planet to our children and grandchildren.”