ANN ARBOR, Mich. – The Minnesota men's hockey team clinched the inaugural Big Ten title in a 3-2 overtime win over No. 13 Michigan.

Kyle Rau, a junior captain, lit the lamp 2:44 into the overtime session during a Gophers' power play to seal the title for Minnesota. Hudson Fasching and Travis Boyd assisted on the goal.

The Wolverines scored twice in the second half of the first period to take a 2-1 lead into the first intermission, but the Gophers bounced back during the second period with Justin Kloos scoring on a rocket. It was the freshman's 12th goal of the season.

The Gophers outshot Michigan 28-24 on the night. Minnesota went 1-for-3 on the power play and was 1-for-1 on the penalty kill.

Minnesota (25-4-6 overall, 14-2-3-0 Big Ten) has now won a program-record three-straight conference championships while this year's seniors are the first class to win three conference titles in their careers.

Minnesota won back-to-back MacNaughton Cups as Western Collegiate Hockey Association regular-season champions in 2012 and 2013.

The Gophers close out the 2013-14 regular season on Saturday night against Michigan at 5 p.m.