Tyus Jones, Reid Travis share AP award

6:09 PM, Mar 25, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

MINNEAPOLIS - This time, Tyus Jones has to share the honor.

The Apple Valley junior point guard was named Monday the co-winner of the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award for high school boys basketball, with DeLaSalle junior power forward Reid Travis. Jones was the sole recipient his sophomore season.

Both Jones and Travis led their teams to state championships Saturday. Apple Valley won in Class 4A, and DeLaSalle won in Class 3A. Both players are highly regarded national recruits.

Joining Jones and Travis on the AP's all-state team were Anders Broman of Lakeview Christian Academy in Duluth, Rashad Vaughn of Robbinsdale Cooper and Graham Woodward of Edina. Vaughn is also part of the state's heralded junior class. Broman became the state's all-time leading scorer this season with 5,119 points.

The Associated Press 2013 All-State team for Minnesota high school boys basketball, as voted on by statewide media.


Tyus Jones, Apple Valley and Reid Travis, DeLaSalle


Tyus Jones, jr, Apple Valley

Reid Travis, jr, DeLaSalle

Anders Broman, sr, Lakeview Christian Academy

Rashad Vaughn, jr, Robbinsdale Cooper

Graham Woodward, sr, Edina


Quinton Hooker, sr, Park Center

J.P. Macura, jr, Lakeville North

Alex Illikainen, so, Grand Rapids

Joe Aase, sr, Austin

Renard Suggs, sr, Woodbury


Ben Oberfeld, sr, Eastview

Quashingm Smith-Pugh, sr, St. Paul Johnson

Scott Litchy, sr, Albany

Riley Dearring, sr, Minnetonka

Mack Johnson, sr, Roseville

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Most Watched Videos