Minnesotans take home titles in 9th Fargo Marathon

12:14 PM, May 18, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

FARGO, N.D. - Two Minnesotans are taking home titles in the ninth annual Fargo Marathon.

Chris Erichsen of Minneapolis crossed the finish line Saturday in a time of 2 hours, 20 minutes, 42 seconds, to win the men's title. Nichole Provath of Northfield, Minn., won the women's crown in 2:50:49.

It was the second Fargo Marathon victory for the 27-year-old Erichsen. He won the race in 2012 with a course record of 2:19.55.

Fargo runners Eric Loeffler and Hanna Grinaker won the men's and women's half-marathon titles Saturday. About 2,000 people started the full marathon.

The list of entrants included 35 people who have run all eight previous marathons. Race officials say they have beefed up security in the wake of the Boston Marathon bombings last month.


(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Most Watched Videos