Obama honors 4 local teachers for math, science

BTN11: Four MN teachers to get presidential honor

WASHINGTON, D.C. - President Barack Obama is honoring four local teachers for their excellence in math and science education. 

Obama announced a list of 213 math and science educators who would be receiving the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. 

The list includes four teachers from Minnesota -- two from Minneapolis, one from St. Paul and one from Mahtomedi. 

For Grades K-6, the recipients are Frances Stang, of O. H. Anderson Elementary School (Science) and Carissa Tobin, of Nellie Stone Johnson Community School (Mathematics). 

For Grades 7-12, the recipients are Morgan Fierst, of South High (Mathematics) and Lisa Houdek, of Central Senior High School (Science). 

In addition to recognition from the President, the teachers will also receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. All teachers will be honored at a special awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. 

The list of educators was selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators after the initial selection process at the state level.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment