Ramsey County approves e-cigarette ban

SAINT PAUL, Minn - By a 6-1 vote, the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners passed restrictions regarding the use of e-cigarettes in public places.

The ordinance treats e-cigarettes just like tobacco products, banning them from places where smoking is not allowed. It also prohibits smoking or vaping within 25 feet of a building entrance.

In 2005, Ramsey County passed one of the state's first smoking bans for bars and restaurants. Two years later, the Minnesota legislature enacted the statewide Freedom to Breathe law.

Ramsey County joins nine other counties and 20 cities in Minnesota that have prohibited the use of e-cigarettes wherever conventional smoking is not allowed, according to Katie Engman, program director for Ramsey Tobacco Coalition.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment