Twins kick off 2014 All-Star balloting

MINNEAPOLIS - Major League Baseball (MLB) and the Minnesota Twins officially kicked off balloting for the 2014 All-Star Game, which will be played July 15 at Target Field in Minneapolis.

Beginning Friday fans from around the world can cast their votes for starters 25 times exclusively at, and all 30 Club web sites with the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot sponsored by Experian. They can vote either online or using a mobile device.

On hand for today's announcement were Twins owner Jim Pohlad, team president Dave St. Peter, President of the Twins, six-time
All-Star Joe Mauer; Hall of Famers Rod Carew, Paul Molitor and Bert Blyleven;, and eight-time All-Star Tony Oliva.

During the voting period, the All-Star Game Ballot will be available in English and Spanish, and will offer audio CAPTCHA functionality for visually-impaired fans. Traditional Chinese, Korean and Japanese versions of the online ballot will be available in May. Banco BHD will sponsor online All-Star balloting in the Dominican Republic, making Spanish-language ballots available to fans in the Dominican Republic via, the official Spanish-language Web site of Major League Baseball.

Each major league club will begin in-stadium balloting between Friday and May 12. That phase of voting will wrap up no later than June 26. Online and mobile voting wraps up July 3.

Besides allowing them to vote on who will start the All-Star Game, fans will also be able to help decide who takes part in the MLB Home Run Derby.

The 10 American League candidates are Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays; Carlos Beltran of the New York Yankees; Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers; Robinson Cano of the Seattle Mariners; 2013 Home Run Derby Champion Yoenis Cespedes of the Oakland Athletics; Chris Davis of the Baltimore Orioles; Prince Fielder of the Texas Rangers; All-Star Ambassador Joe Mauer of the Twins; David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox; and Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.

The 10 National League candidates are Pedro Alvarez of the Pittsburgh Pirates; Jay Bruce of the Cincinnati Reds;
Paul Goldschmidt of the Arizona Diamondbacks; Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals; Jason Heyward of the
Atlanta Braves; Buster Posey of the San Francisco Giants; Yasiel Puig of the Los Angeles Dodgers; Giancarlo
Stanton of the Miami Marlins; Troy Tulowitzki of the Colorado Rockies; and David Wright of the New York Mets.

MLB's All-Star Balloting Program is the largest of its kind. A record 40.2 million ballots were cast in 2012.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment