Tressel to present 2013 Eddie Robinson Award

11:49 AM, Sep 10, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Philadelphia, PA (The Sports Network) - National championship-winning football coach Jim Tressel still keeps close ties to his roots.Those ties will bring him back to The Sports Network FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation.

Before he guided Ohio State to a perfect season and the BCS national title in 2002, Tressel led Youngstown State University to four national championship victories on the Division I-AA (now FCS) level. He was named the 1994 Eddie Robinson Award winner during one of the national championship seasons, and now he will present the same national coach of the year honors to the 2013 recipient at The Sports Network banquet on Dec. 16 to be held at the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel.

"I'm proud to be able to do it," Tressel said.

Tressel became the second Robinson Award recipient to lead his team to the FCS national championship when Youngstown State completed a 14-0-1 campaign in 1994. His squad opened with a playoff win over Alcorn State and Walter Payton Award winner Steve McNair, then followed the triumph with victories over Eastern Kentucky, Montana and Boise State.

Tressel departed Youngstown State with a 135-57-2 (.701) record, including 23-6 in the playoffs, to take the Ohio State head coaching reigns after the 2000 season. He compiled a 94-22 mark with the Buckeyes, with 10 bowl appearances and the 14-0 perfect season in 2002.

He currently serves as the vice president of school engagement at the University of Akron, where he began his coaching career as an assistant coach in 1974.

The Eddie Robinson Award, in its 27th year, will be voted on by a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the FCS regular season.

In addition to the Robinson Award, The Sports Network will present the Walter Payton, Buck Buchanan and Jerry Rice player awards on Dec. 16. The Payton Award honors the outstanding player in the FCS, the Buchanan Award is given to the outstanding defensive player in the FCS and the Rice Trophy goes to the FCS freshman of the year.

The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos