Gophers shut out Ohio State to win big ten tournament championship

ANN ARBOR, Mich. – For the second consecutive season, the University of Minnesota softball team takes home the Big Ten Tournament championship.

The top-ranked Gophers beat Ohio State 6-0 in the finals on Saturday.  Senior Sydney Dwyer gave the Gophers the lead with a two-run home run in the fifth inning.  Dwyer had two home runs in the semifinals against Illinois, including the walk-off that sent the Gophers to the title game.  Senior pitcher Sara Groenewegen struck out 12 batters and allowed just two hits in a complete game shutout.

The Gophers improved to 54-3 overall this season and will likely host a regional in the NCAA tournament.  The 64-team field will be announced Sunday night.

© 2017 KARE-TV


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment