MINNEAPOLIS - Taylor Pyatt scored two goals and Mike Smith made 23 saves to help the Phoenix Coyotes clinch the first division championship in franchise history with a 4-1 victory over the Minnesota Wild on Saturday night.

Mikkel Boedker and Radim Vrbata also scored and Michal Rozsival added two assists for the Coyotes (42-27-13), who won the final five games of the regular season to leapfrog Los Angeles and San Jose for the Pacific Division title. The Coyotes had never won a division dating back to their inception as the Winnipeg Jets in 1979-80.

Dany Heatley scored for the Wild, who will miss the playoffs for the fourth straight season. Niklas Backstrom had a rough night with 24 saves on 28 shots. The Coyotes will play sixth-seeded Chicago in the first round.

Read or Share this story: