MINNEAPOLIS - A federal indictment unsealed Wednesday charges eleven Twin Cities menin connection with a heroin distribution ring that has beenoperating since 2000.

The men named in the indictment are Marcus Lashaun Banks, age 31; David Lamont Loggins, age 40; Marshall Francois Scurlock, age 33; and Andre Maurice Smith, age 37, all of Minneapolis; Alvin Benex Collins, age 56, Lamont Columbus Harper, age 35, both of St. Paul; Damien Dwayne Eastling, age 23, of Oakdale; Demon Robert Franklin, age 36, of White Bear Lake; Steve Latimore, age 38, of New Brighton; Deon Dimitri McGhee, age 32, of Columbia Heights; and William Deante Taylor, age 37, of Plymouth. Allwere indicted for one count of conspiracy to distribute heroin.

A number of the defendants also face distribution and possession with intent to distribute charges.

Federal prosecutors say that from the year 2000 through October 15, 2012, the defendants conspired with each other and others to distribute one kilogram or more of heroin.

If convicted, all the defendants face a potential maximum penalty of ten years to life in federal prison.

Read or Share this story: