ANN ARBOR, Minn. -- The U.S. Olympic men's hockey team was announced Wednesday at the NHL Winter Classic in Ann Arbor Mich.

Reminiscent of the 1980 Miracle on Ice team, this year's roster is littered with players from Minnesota or with Minnesota ties.

There is little surprise that Zach Parise and Wild teammate Ryan Suter are Sochi bound. Spring Park's David Backes, former Gopher Phil Kessel, and Elk River's Paul Martin also made the Olympic team. Justin Faulk, Ryan McDonagh, T.J. Oshie, Derek Stepan, and Blake Wheller will also represent the U.S. in Sochi.