ST. PAUL, Minn. - A new set of laws will take effect in Minnesota this week including a big bump to the minimum wage.
The new laws go into effect across Minnesota starting Friday, August 1.
Some Minnesotans have mixed opinions about the changes lawmakers approved.
For the first time in 10 years, minimum wage workers serving your favorite brew or meal will see an increase from $6.15 to $8 an hour.
"I make min wage so I agree I like that," said a server.
But a group hanging out at New Bohemia in Minneapolis isn't crazy about some of the new state laws.
Drivers caught speeding through a work zone will now be fined $300.
"I think it is a pretty steep price. It is kind of expensive," said Ryan Vinzant, of Minneapolis.
By contrast, Tony Kommes knows first-hand the dangers of working around blooming orange barrels.
"I agree a hundred percent because my dad, his whole life was a construction man, and he worked that in that kind of stuff all the time," Kommes said.
Those speeding sometimes hit the barrels and keep going, but a new law requires all drivers to stop and investigate if they hit something.
Other laws set to take effect August 1 include one that prohibits convicted domestic abusers and stalkers from legally owning a firearm: Motorists involved in a crash are required to stop and investigate: And the State Board of Pharmacy now has the power to order a business to stop selling synthetic drugs.
If you'd like to see other changes that will go into effect, visit here.