Breaking News
More () »

KARE 11 Investigates honored with prestigious Peabody Award

KARE 11 is recognized for "The Gap: Failure to Treat, Failure to Protect," an investigation that revealed systemic failures to treat people with mental illness.

GOLDEN VALLEY, Minn. — KARE 11 Investigates has been announced as one of the winners of a George Foster Peabody Award, the only local television station to win in the news category this year.

The prestigious honor is being awarded for KARE 11’s investigative series, "The Gap: Failure to Treat, Failure to Protect," which revealed systemic – and too often, fatal – failures to treat people with mental illness and protect the public.

KARE 11 Investigates documented how violent criminal suspects deemed too mentally ill to stand trial in Minnesota are often released without adequate treatment or supervision, and go on to commit other violent crimes. In the wake of KARE 11’s reporting, state lawmakers passed sweeping bipartisan reform legislation.

The year-long investigation was led by KARE 11 reporters A.J. Lagoe and Brandon Stahl, executive producer Steve Eckert, and photojournalists David Peterlinz, Ron Stover and Gary Knox.

“Investigative journalism is a critical tool for shining a light on injustice,” said Lynn Beall, EVP and COO, media operations of KARE’s parent company, TEGNA. “We are proud of KARE’s unwavering commitment to in-depth investigative reporting that has brought transparency, accountability and change to Minnesota.”

“KARE’s investigative team continues to set a high standard for local investigations,” said Stacey Nogy, director of news content at KARE. “This achievement underscores KARE’s and TEGNA’s commitment to impactful local journalism and we are grateful and humbled by this recognition.”

The announcement marks the third consecutive year KARE 11 has been honored by the Peabody Award Board of Jurors. Two years ago, KARE 11’s “Cruel and Unusual” investigation was a Peabody nominee. Last year, “PRONE” – a joint investigation between KARE and KUSA, TEGNA’s television station in Denver – was a Peabody Award winner.

“The Gap” has already been honored with two other national journalism awards: a duPont-Columbia Award and an IRE Award from the Investigative Reporters and Editors organization.

The Peabody Awards were founded in 1940, based at the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia. Peabody Awards recognize excellence across multiple platforms that “shine a light on Stories that Matter and are a testament to the power of art and reportage in the push for truth, social justice and equity.”

WATCH: "The Gap" Primetime special:

Before You Leave, Check This Out