Breaking News
More () »

Which Minnesota cities issued new curfews Wednesday?

Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Champlin all enacted curfews in an attempt to head-off unrest, looting.

MINNEAPOLIS — Editor's note: Video above is from Tuesday night's protest in Brooklyn Center

Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park and Champlin have all implemented curfews Wednesday night into Thursday morning in anticipation of potential unrest.

The curfew comes after three nights of protesting in Brooklyn Center where Daunte Wright was shot and killed by a police officer Sunday afternoon. Kim Potter, the officer who shot Wright, was charged with second-degree manslaughter on Wednesday and is currently being held at the Hennepin County Jail.

Champlin's curfew is scheduled to begin 9 p.m. and last until 6 a.m. Thursday, while Brooklyn Center and Brooklyn Park's curfew will be from 10 p.m. Wednesday to 6 a.m. Thursday.

Several cities across the Twin Cities enacted curfews Tuesday night that lasted until Wednesday morning. Hundreds gathered outside of the Brooklyn Center Police Department ahead of Tuesday night's curfew. As tensions rose, law enforcement declared the gathering an "unlawful assembly" and issued multiple dispersal order.

Minnesota's Operation Safety Net says 79 people were arrested Tuesday night following a protest in Brooklyn Center over the shooting death of Daunte Wright by a police officer. Overnight, OSN initially said about 60 people were arrested.

Minnesota State Patrol made 73 arrests, the Minneapolis Police Department made five arrests, and the Hennepin County Sheriff's Office made one arrest.

OSN says the charges varied, but included things like inciting a riot and unlawful assembly.

Before You Leave, Check This Out