Minneapolis St. Paul News, Weather, Traffic, Sports | Minneapolis, Minnesota | kare11.com

Bernie Sanders releases list of MN endorsements

His 'who's who' of Gopher state supporters comes days before Sanders comes to MN for a pre-Super Tuesday rally.
Credit: David Peterlinz

MINNEAPOLIS — 56 notable Minnesotans, including elected officials, community leaders, union members and activists, have stepped forward to endorse Sen. Bernie Sanders ahead of Minnesota's March 3rd primary, according to the Sanders campaign. 

A press release distributed to Twin Cities media outlets says these individuals cited Sen. Sanders’ consistency and leadership across issues that include electability, social, racial and economic justice, immigration reform, labor rights, universal health care, and combating climate change as reasons for their support. .

Among those on the list of Sanders supporters are: 

  • Hodan Hassan, State Representative (District 62A) and Assistant Majority Leader, Minneapolis, MN
  • Carlos Mariani, State Representative (District 65B), St. Paul, MN
  • Dai Thao, Councilmember (Ward 1), St. Paul, MN
  • Nadia Mohamed, Councilwoman (At Large B), St. Louis Park, MN
  • Rochelle (Shelly) Dahlquist, Council Member (Ward 1), Moorhead, MN
  • Kim Ellison, Chair, Minneapolis Board of Education, Minneapolis, MN
  • Marny Xiong, Chair, St. Paul Public School Board, St. Paul, MN
  • Angie Hanson, Board Member and Clerk, Albert Lea Area Schools, Albert Lea, MN
  • AK Hassan, Commissioner, Minneapolis Parks and Recreation Board, Minneapolis, MN
  • Chelsea Skog, Supervisor (District 3) & Secretary, Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation Board District, Eagan, MN

RELATED: Bernie Sanders to rally in Minnesota on Super Tuesday eve

RELATED: Klobuchar presses on toward Super Tuesday

The release also lists endorsements from community leaders and union members, including: 


  • Nazir Khan - Environmental Justice Organizer
  • Tessneem Abdallah - Board Member, American Muslims for Palestine in Twin Cities
  • Fahima Ahmed - Somali Community Activist & Political Organizer
  • Rita Allen - Twin Cities Co-Chair, Democratic Socialists of America
  • Dominique Diadaggo-Cash - Organizer, Sierra Club & Muslim Community Leader
  • Devin Hogan - Chair, Minneapolis Democratic–Farmer–Labor Party
  • Maria Isa - Latinx Artist and Activist
  • Mariam Khatib - Chair, American Muslims for Palestine in Twin Cities
  • Annis Nuseibeh - Board Member, American Muslims for Palestine in Twin Cities
  • Malik Nusseibeh - Board Member, American Muslims for Palestine in Twin Cities
  • Rim Salem - Board Member, American Muslims for Palestine in Twin Cities
  • Tim Schaefer - Twin Cities Co-Chair, Democratic Socialists of America
  • Kevin Whelan - Community & Climate Justice Organizer
  • Kong Xiong - Political Director, Minneapolis Federation of Teachers & Hmong Community Leader


  • Bol Benjamin - Communication Workers of America: The News Guild Local 37002
  • Devin Bingham - Steward, Education Minnesota Local 2209
  • Matthew Boynton - AFSCME Local 3800
  • Adam Burch - Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1005
  • Shane Clune - Co-Chief Steward, AFSCME Local 2822 & Executive Board Member, AFSCME Council 5
  • Sheigh Freeberg - Secretary Treasurer, Unite Here Local 17
  • Gus Froemke - Teamsters Local 320
  • Dave Garibaldi - Teamsters Local 320, Retired
  • Kip Hedges - Teamsters Local 120 & Minnesota Machinists Council of Retirees
  • Joe Hesla - St. Paul Federation of Educators Local 28
  • Rami Jubara - Executive Board Member, AFSCME local 3937
  • Maggie Kalda - Unite Here Local 17
  • Tom Kelly - Minnesota Nurses Association
  • Chris Knutson - Interim President, AFSCME Council 5 Local 999
  • Anthony Korum - Ironworkers Local 512
  • Sarah LaCasse - Minnesota Nurses Association
  • Brenda Montes - Unite Here Local 17
  • Rajan Nayar - Minnesota Association of Professional Employees Local 801
  • Nathan Paulsen - Executive Board Member, AFSCME 2474
  • Geof Paquette - Unite Here Local 17
  • Rose Roach - Executive Director, Minnesota Nurses Association
  • Celeste Robinson - Unite Here Local 17
  • Yolanda Roth - Communication Workers of America
  • Nick Shillingford - Vice Chair Metro Steward, Minnesota Nurses Association
  • Sean Siberio - Vice President, AFSCME Local 2474
  • Ginny Stark - Amalgamated Transit Union Local 265
  • Allison Thompson - AFSCME Local 3937
  • Ryan Timlin - President, ATU Local 1005
  • A.J. Van den Berghe - Secretary, Minnesota Association of Professional Employees Local 701
  • Tyler Vasseur - National Association of Letter Carriers Branch 9
  • Inez Westbrock - Minnesota Nurses Association
  • Claire Wiklund - Minnesota Nurses Association

Sanders will be in Minnesota for a concert rally Monday, March 2, at the St. Paul River Center. The rally starts at 7:30 p.m., with doors opening at 5:30 p.m. While admission is first-come, first-serve, the Sanders campaign urges those who plan to attend to RSVP via the Sanders website. 

Nathaniel Ratecliff and the Nightsweats will warm up for Sanders at Monday's rally.