Breaking News
More () »

ELECTION RESULTS: Minnesota's 2022 Midterm Races

There's plenty for Minnesota voters to decide this Election Day, including the race for governor, congressional seats, attorney general and secretary of state.
Credit: KARE
Minneapolis resident at early voting center

MINNESOTA, USA — Election Day in Minnesota had no shortage of storylines with major races across the state, including some that will have national implications.

One of the biggest races this election cycle saw was for governor where Democratic incumbent Tim Walz defeated Republican challenger Dr. Scott Jensen. Mary Moriarty will be the next Hennepin County Attorney, while Dawanna Witt has made history as the first Black woman to be elected Hennepin County Sheriff.

On a national level, in a tightly contested race in the 2nd Congressional District, Democratic incumbent Angie Craig won a rematch over Republican challenger Tyler Kistner.

Follow along below for live updates and live results from Minnesota's races:


The Associated Press is projecting Gov. Tim Walz will remain the governor of Minnesota. 

Walz defeats Republican challenger Dr. Scott Jensen.

Both campaigns spent an unprecedented amount on advertising, independent expenditure groups and political action committees are also flooding the airwaves with ads that often blur and distort the facts.

In the pair's respective victory speeches Tuesday night, Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan said in part, "Minnesota has voted for compassion tonight. Minnesota has voted for kindness, and Minnesota has voted to continue to make our state a welcoming place for all."

She added, "This is a state that is going to reach out its hand to help."

Walz spoke after Flanagan, declaring, "Democracy is alive and well in this state."

RELATED: Walz and Jensen battle for governor's office


Democratic incumbent Keith Ellison defeated Republican political newcomer Jim Schultz in a tightly contested race.

Ellison declared victory Wednesday morning, and Schultz later conceded in a race that was decided by roughly 21,000 votes, or about one percentage point. This is Ellison's second term after spending 12 years in the U.S. House, where he'd made history as the first Muslim member of Congress.

Prior to going to Congress in 2007, Ellison spent four years in the Minnesota House. His legal career included work as a criminal defense lawyer and a legal aid attorney.

RELATED: Minnesota AG race remains tight between Ellison and Schultz


NBC News is projecting that two-term incumbent Democrat Steve Simon will remain Minnesota's Secretary of State.

Simon, who received more votes than any other Democratic candidate statewide, defeated Republican challenger Kim Crockett.

RELATED: Steve Simon vs Kim Crockett in secretary of state race


Democrat Angie Craig has won her bid for a third term in the U.S. House of Representatives in Minnesota's 2nd Congressional District, according to the Associated Press.

Craig, who flipped the district from red to blue in 2018, defeated Republican challenger Tyler Kistner, the same opponent she faced in the 2020 election.

RELATED: US Rep. Angie Craig keeps seat in high-stakes Minnesota race


Mary Moriarty will be the next Hennepin County Attorney. Opponent Martha Holton Dimick conceded after trailing by more than 65,000 votes with 96% of the precincts reported.

Moriarty is replacing Mike Freeman, who is stepping away after 24 years as the top prosecutor in the state's largest county.


It appears Dawanna Witt will be making history as the next Hennepin County Sheriff.

Witt will not only be the county’s first Black sheriff but will also be the first woman to hold the position. Witt is currently serving as a major in the department that oversees the largest bureau — Adult Detention and Court Services.

Witt will replace Sheriff David Hutchinson, who announced earlier this year he wouldn't be seeking reelection

RELATED: Race for Hennepin County Sheriff set to make historic finish


The race for State Auditor was also extremely close, with incumbent DFL auditor Julie Blaha maintaining a slim lead as the final votes were counted.

Republican challenger Ryan Wilson issued a statement on Wednesday afternoon conceding defeat.

“I want to thank everyone that supported my candidacy for state auditor," Wilson said. "We put up a strong campaign, but came up just short of our goal. I am proud of the hard work that our team put in over the last nine months. Minnesota is a wonderful place with great people, and it was an honor for me to travel the state meeting Minnesotans, hearing their stories and sharing mine.”

Blaha's apparent victory returns all of Minnesota's constitutional offices to the DFL, giving Democrats dominant control of state government after also winning majorities in both houses of the state legislature.



Democrat Tony Evers will remain as the governor of Wisconsin, according to NBC News.

The Associated Press reported that Republican challenger Tim Michels conceded early Wednesday morning.


Republican incumbent Sen. Ron Johnson narrowly defeated Democrat Lt. Gov. Mandela Barnes in a key race to help decide the U.S. Senate.

Barnes conceded defeat Wednesday in Milwaukee.

Johnson won by just over a point, a more narrow victory than his two previous wins in 2010 and 2016. 

RELATED: In battle for U.S. Senate, Wisconsin emerges as key race

For complete live results, click here.

Watch more Minnesota politics:

Watch the latest political coverage from the Land of 10,000 Lakes in our YouTube playlist:

Before You Leave, Check This Out