Breaking News
More () »

These are the winners of MnDOT's 2023 'Name a Snowplow' contest

Clearopathtra, Han Snowlo and Blizzo are coming to highways near you.
Credit: KARE 11
MnDOT snowplow

GOLDEN VALLEY, Minn. — Pop culture references reigned supreme in this year's Minnesota Department of Transportation "Name a Snowplow" contest.

After MnDOT narrowed down thousands of submissions to 60 finalists, Minnesotans voted to select eight new names for plows across the state, one for each plowing district.

This year's winners are:

  • Clearopathtra – District 1 (Northeast Minnesota)
  • Blader Tot Hotdish – District 2 (Northwest Minnesota)
  • Better Call Salt – District 3 (Central Minnesota)
  • Sleetwood Mac – District 4 (West Central Minnesota)
  • Blizzo – Metro District (Twin Cities)
  • Scoop! There it is – District 6 (Southeast Minnesota)
  • Han Snowlo – District 7 (South Central Minnesota)
  • Yer a Blizzard, Harry – District 8 (Southwest Minnesota)

Yer a Blizzard, Harry received the most votes, followed by Blizzo, Clearopathtra and Better Call Salt. In total, more than 64,000 unique voters cast their ballots in this year's contest.

The 2022-23 selections join these winners from the past two years.


  • Betty Whiteout
  • Ctrl Salt Delete
  • The Big Leplowski
  • Plowasaurus Rex
  • Scoop Dogg
  • Blizzard of Oz
  • No More Mr. Ice Guy
  • Edward Blizzardhands


  • Plowy McPlowFace
  • Ope, Just Gonna Plow Right Past Ya
  • Duck Duck Orange Truck
  • Plow Bunyan
  • Snowbi Wan Kenobi
  • F. Salt Fitzgerald
  • Darth Blader
  • The Truck Formerly Known As Plow

Watch more local news:

Watch the latest local news from the Twin Cities in our YouTube playlist:

Before You Leave, Check This Out